Bedford Summer Basketball Culminates with Two Title Games

August 23, 2023
2023 Bedford Summer Basketball League A league Champions Bkil’s Army. Courtesy Image.

The Bedford Summer Basketball League championship games on Aug. 3 were highlighted by a one-possession finish and a scoring reprise by a Bedford High School hardcourt legend. 

Bkil’s Army hung on to beat the Young Timers, 42-39, in the A division title game. Bkil’s Army became the first team in BSBL history to win the B level and come back to win the A division the following year.

The score was back and forth the entire second half. Capt. Tommy Kimmel’s drive to the basket put Bkil’s up by one with less than a minute remaining. Matt Mulligan, the Timers’ captain, led all scorers with 24 points, but his three-point attempt went around the rim and out.

Ryan Cohen (15 points), the game’s most valuable player, rebounded for Bkil’s, drew the foul, and calmly swished both free throws with nine seconds to play. Mulligan was triple teamed as he crossed halfcourt and could not get off a shot as time expired. 

Get The Bedford Citizen in your inbox!

Kimmel finished with 10 points and Bkil’s Army had strong playmaking from Brendan Kilroy and Adam Legere as well as solid rebounding from Phil Kimmel and Aiden Engel. For the Young Timers, who won the regular season crown, Tristan Proulx, Mike Delia, and Declan Garrity all played well. 

In the B division, Jerry Cohen ’08, the last male to top the career 1,000-point mark at BHS, turned back the clock and led Haley’s Comet to a 49-33 win over the Ringers. 

2023 Bedford Summer Basketball League B league Champions Haley’s Comet. Courtesy Image

With Captain Tommy Barkovic, Jarred Heyl, Mike Thorsen, and David Ramondi all out with injuries, Haley’s Comet only had five players – and one of them was Tom Barkovic Sr., at 69 the oldest player in BSBL history. 

Cohen took over the game in the second half, finishing with 27 points. He had help from Pat Sullivan ’04, who played varsity at Tufts University. Nate Rogers added 14 points from the outside and David Thorsen contributed strong rebounding.

The younger Ringers team was led by Captain Chris Venuti with 10 and Ben Lipsey with seven. This was the Comets’ first B division championship. 

“This was the most balanced and competitive season in BSBL history,” said Michael Dirrane, league commissioner.

The league is open to all BHS graduates and Bedford residents. Anyone who would like to participate should please contact Raeann Gembis at the Recreation Department by April 15, 2024.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

All Stories

Do you have a garden where you take care of either flowers or vegetables?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
  • Junior Landscaping
Go toTop