More Than 1,200 Vote Early in Saturday’s Town Election

March 8, 2024

For an uncontested town ballot, Bedford’s annual election on Saturday may have already set a turnout record.

That’s because as of Wednesday, more than 1,200 early-voting ballots have been received, Town Clerk Bridget Rodrigue said on Friday.

The polls at the John Glenn Middle School for all local precincts will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

The early voting already has surpassed 10 percent of the town’s registered electorate. What’s the backstory behind this unusual response to a ballot without drama?

Rodrigue explained that apparently many applicants for early voting marked “all elections,” not realizing that besides Tuesday’s presidential primary there also was the town election.

The town clerk pointed out that her office sent 2,465 of the dual set of ballots, which means only about half of the local ones had been returned as of Wednesday.

Rodrigue emphasized that if voters want to submit early ballots on Saturday, they should bring them to the town clerk’s office in Town Hall, which will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

At the middle school, election workers expect a quiet day.

There will be some new faces in town government at the end of the day, and some familiar faces in different places.

Dan Brosgol, a nine-year veteran of the School Committee, will be elected to the Select Board Saturday, following an occasional track to the executive branch most recently taken by Ed Pierce. Brosgol’s School Committee slot will be filled by Angel Pettitt, a newcomer to elected office.

Continuing to serve will be Chris Gittins on the Planning Board and Anita Raj and Maureen Richichi on the Board of Health.

The position of moderator, which has been vacant since Mark Siegenthaler’s resignation almost six months ago, will be filled by David Powell, a former member of the Finance Committee.

There will be two new members of the Board of Library Trustees – Gyasi Burks-Abbott and Emily Prince. Nicholas Howard, also a new office-seeker, will join the Board of Assessors.

Expecting re-election will be Brian O’Donnell, a member of the Shawsheen Valley Technical High School Committee, and Lauren Crews to the Bedford Housing Authority.

Town Election – 2024 Seats and Candidates

Select Board

One seat for three-year term

  • Dan Brosgol 

School Committee

One seat for a three-year term

  • Angel Pettitt 

Town Moderator

One seat for a one-year term

  • David Powell 

Planning Board

One seat for three-year term

  • Chris Gittins (incumbent) 

Board of Assessors

One seat for three-year term

  • Nicholas Howard 

Board of Health

Two seats for three-year terms

  • Anita Raj (incumbent) 
  • Maureen Richichi (incumbent) 

Library Trustee

Two seats for three-year terms

  • Gyasi Omari Burks-Abbott 
  • Emily Prince

Housing Authority

One seat for five-year term

  • Lauren Crews (incumbent)

Regional School Committee

One seat for a three-year term

  • Brian O’Donnell (incumbent) 
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

All Stories

What’s Bedford thinking about O.J. Simpson’s guilt or innocence of the murders of Nicole Brown Simpson and Ron Goldman?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
  • Junior Landscaping
Go toTop