Six Bedford Students Honored at Shawsheen Tech Citizenship Award Ceremonies 

January 31, 2024

Six Bedford students were among 109 honored by Shawsheen Valley Technical High School at recent annual Citizenship Award ceremonies, a two-night tradition dedicated to honoring exemplary students from each grade in the school community. 

Named from Bedford were Owen Coltran, Angelique Hernandez-Nichols, Melissa Lavine, Mia Morrison, Gordon Noble, and Destiny Young. The Citizenship Award embodies the school’s core values of Respect, Integrity, and Accountability.  

Hosted by the dean’s office, the ceremony is a time to applaud students who epitomize the essence of what it means to be a Shawsheen student. The recently embraced core values played a pivotal role in the selection process with students nominated for exemplifying these principles. 

One student from each grade in every vocational program, alongside one student from each academic course, was chosen for this esteemed recognition.

Assistant Principal Kevin Caruso and Dean of Students Christine Tobin led the proceedings, presenting each student with a certificate and commemorative pin. The event garnered widespread support from teachers and staff, many of whom attended to show their encouragement for the deserving students. The ceremony also featured the annual Ice Cream Sunday bar, catered by Shawsheen’s culinary students.

Caruso emphasized the importance of the event for the department, highlighting its role in reinforcing positive behavior. He said, “It is important to recognize students for this excellent achievement because they work hard in school and are great role models for other students.”

Principal Jessica Cook echoed the sentiment, underscoring the crucial role of school leadership in cultivating a positive school culture. She said, “It is our responsibility to intentionally create impactful moments in the lives of our students, and these ceremonies are an example of that.”

Shawsheen Tech, a public high school with a student population of 1,320, serves the communities of Bedford, Billerica, Burlington, Tewksbury, and Wilmington. Nancy Asbedian and Brian O’Donnell represent Bedford on the Shawsheen Tech School committee.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

All Stories

So, What’s Bedford think? Are you a fan of Taylor Swift?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
  • Junior Landscaping
Go toTop