Middlesex CC Awards 2017 Celebrity Forum Scholarships

 Submitted by Middlesex Community College

The Middlesex Community College Foundation recently awarded $30,500 in scholarships for outstanding academic achievement to 18 Middlesex students as part of the 19thannual MCC Celebrity Forum.

Shown here (front row, left to right): History Professor David Kalivas, Director of the Commonwealth Honors Program, Sophie Brill-Weitz of Bedford, Lucy Arrigo of Ayer, and Maria Aybar of Lowell; (second row, left to right): Noah Stapp of Westford, Brianna Reyes of Pelham, N.H., and Dylan Pato of Lexington; third row (left to right): Alex Sandin of Brookline, N.H., Rebecca Primak of Andover, RaonakEzahanShristyof Lowell and Rutul Patel of Woburn; (top row, left to right): Bianca Sabatino of Tewksbury, and Brianna Tavares of Wilmington.

Sophie Brill-Weitz of Bedford was awarded the Debra Chemelli-Evans Scholarship. This award was established in memory of the daughter of William Chemelli, former chairman of the MCC Board of Trustees, and member of the MCC Foundation Board.

Raonak Ezahan Shristy
of Lowell was awarded the James C. and Judith G. Mabry Completion Scholarship. This award was established at the inauguration of MCC President James Mabry in 2015. The scholarship is awarded to assist a worthy student with the completion of an associate degree at Middlesex.

Noah Stapp of Westford was awarded the Dr. Carole A. Cowan Scholarship. Established in honor of Cowan, former MCC President, this award provides financial assistance to a deserving Middlesex student who is a member of the Commonwealth Honors Program.

Seven students were awarded Commonwealth Honors Program Scholarships:

Lucy Arrigo (Ayer)
Maria Aybar (Lowell)
Cora Casteel (Waltham)
Julia Deraska (Winchester)
Dylan Pato (Lexington)
Rebecca Primak (Andover)
Alex Sandin (Brookline, N.H.)

Eight students were awarded Celebrity Forum Scholarships:

Gianpiero DeMari (Tyngsborough)
Anushri Madviya (Burlington)
Rutul Patel (Woburn)
Brianna Reyes (Pelham, N.H.)
Bianca Sabatino (Tewksbury)
Shelby Schaefer (Lowell)
Brianna Tavares (Wilmington)
Khuong Thai (Lowell)

To learn more about the 2017 Celebrity Forum scholarships, contact Amy Lee, Director of Annual Giving and Alumni Relations, at 781-280-3579 or [email protected]

Since 1988, the Middlesex Community College Foundation has generated income through revenue from investments managed by the MCC Foundation Board of Directors, the proceeds of the college’s annual Celebrity Forum, Annual Fund, and other programs and campaigns.


Keep our journalism strong! Support The Citizen Journalism Fund today. Contact The Bedford Citizen: [email protected] or 781-430-8837

Share your enthusiasm for this article!
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments