Introducing Bedford’s 2017 National Honor Society Inductees

Savannah En, president of Bedford High School’s chapter of the National Honor Society, and the 2017 NHS Inductees – Image (c) Jeffrey JHO Hoyland, 2017 all rights reserved – click to view larger image

Compiled by The Bedford Citizen

On April 24, a group of 54 Bedford High School students was inducted into the National Honor Society during a program and reception at the school.

To introduce NHS and what it stands for, each of the Bedford chapter officers presented one of the Society’s Four Pillars.

  • President Savannah En, Scholarship
  • Vice President Caroline Ngooi, Leadership
  • Secretary Miles Henderson, Service
  • Treasurers Julia Gavelek and Stephen Dresel, Character

 Images in the gallery below are (c) Jeffrey JHO Hoyland, 2017 all rights reserved – double click to view larger image

Principal Galante and NHS Advisor Lael Piehl along with the current NHS officers presented the 2017 inductees:

Seniors: Hannah Baer, Heather Baer, Daniel Doherty, Megan Fortune,

Juniors: Annemarie Anderson, Sherry Assi, Caitlyn Barr, Saamia Bukhari, Michael Chen, Lexia Cicone, Evan Comeau, Annie Cowen, Taline Dawson, Madelyn Dearing, Megan Demeo, Julia Doucet, Melissa Driscoll, Mari Fay, Nolan Holley, Cordelia Houck, Natalie Knight, Stacey Kwan, Alisha Lerra, Tracie Lewis, Gerald Liao, Catherine Marcus, Julia Mascoli, Cameron Maurice, Robert Meehan, Jennifer Kudenchak, Natalie Lewis, Asminia Morris, Benjamin Oleksinski, Jared Rushanan,  , Georgia Michelman, Madelyn Morrissey, Farrell O’Shaughnessy, Maria Ou, Helen Oustinow, Monique Parker, Sarah Pequeno, Jennifer Rennich, Alexandra Samarov, Nicholas Schwartz, Rachelle Shao, Patrick Siegler, Christina Solitro, Jacqueline Stevens, Jonah Trani, Lara Varjabedian, Michael Vaughan, Kylie Ward, Melanie Weber, George Wei, Nicholas Wilson, Sophia Wilson, Leslie Yan, and Jasmin Yannix

Current NHS members: Melanie Albrecht, Ava Altmann, Felicia Barber, Rachel Barbieri, Emily Barga, Kieran Binney, Maya Bostwick, Matthew Bridgeman, Madison Brown, Elizabeth Carter, John Coyne, Jessica Croteau, Vincent Dee, Stephen Dresel, Savannah En, Julia Gavelek, Pallavi Goel, Michelle Gong, Justin Hafer, Aaron Hamilton, Jacqueline Helms, Isabella Henderson, Miles Henderson, Juwon Jeon, Allison Jew, Nicole Kennedy, Alison Klein, James Levangie, Mary Manning, Jeanette Manship, Stella Miller, Olivia Morrisey, Angela Mortenson, Caroline Ngooi, Obiageli Nwodoh, Shreya Patel, Sonia Presti, Emma Pulizzi, Hannah Rubin, Gillian Russell, Alina Thopurathu, David Timperio, Corinne Vient, Mykia Washington, Deborah Weidman, and Conor Wisentaner.

In her remarks, Principal Heather Galante welcomed the audience and congratulated the Inductees saying, “Those of you being inducted tonight have distinguished yourselves as top students in an elite school district. You have effectively demonstrated the qualities of scholarship, service, leadership and character…a praiseworthy achievement. . .  As the Principal, I am constantly impressed by the level of talent and compassion displayed by our faculty and students. Here at Bedford High School, I am most pleased that we care not only about learning but we care about one another.”

Principal Galante went on to add two requests of this year’s Inductees: to practice gratitude as well as adding joy and purpose to their lives. “Fully embrace the four pillars of scholarship, leadership, service, character, and if I may add a fifth, gratitude. Do not let them simply be words on a resume, on a piece of paper, a list of naviance. Rather, live them, breathe them and you will be better off and a more fulfilled human being for it.”

Click here to read the full text of Principal Galante’s remarks

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Keep our journalism strong! Support The Citizen Journalism Fund today. Contact The Bedford Citizen: [email protected] or 781-430-8837

Share your enthusiasm for this article!
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

All Stories

What’s Bedford thinking, when do you turn on your heat? 

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
  • Junior Landscaping
Go toTop