Review of Bedford’s Town Charter Underway


By Joan Bowen

The Charter Review Committee was appointed at the March 9 meeting of the Selectmen.  Appointments included members by virtue of Town volunteer positions or were selected on the basis of interview at the March 3 and March 9 Selectmen’s meetings.

Members of the Charter Review Committee will be Betsey Anderson as Town Moderator, Mike Rosenberg for the Selectmen, Ed Pierce for the School Committee and Amy Lloyd for the Planning Board.  In addition, Anne Bickford, Steve Hagan, Polly Herz, Joanna Nickerson and Jan Shepard were appointed as members-at-large.

The charge to this committee will be to review the Charter to consider whether changes are needed.  It is anticipated that the work of Charter Review Committee will begin shortly given the expectation that its recommendations will be made to the Special Town Meeting in the Fall.

The Town Charter is Bedford’s foundational document as it outlines the town’s form of government.  The Charter specifies that every five years a committee will be appointed to study our current decision-making structure and to recommend revisions and amendments, as advisable.  The Charter was originally adopted in 1974.

Correction: March 18, 2014 – An earlier edition of this article incorrectly stated that Bruce Murphy was named to the Charter Review Committee. Steve Hagan, not Bruce Murphy, was named to the committee.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Keep our journalism strong! Support The Citizen Journalism Fund today. Contact The Bedford Citizen: [email protected] or 781-430-8837

Share your enthusiasm for this article!
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

All Stories

What’s Bedford Thinking? Will you get the latest vaccines this fall?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
  • Junior Landscaping
Go toTop