Hanscom Middle School celebrates 2023 graduating students

June 22, 2023
Erich Ledebuhr, Hanscom Middle School principal, addresses the HMS graduating class of 2023 during a ceremony at Hanscom Air Force Base, MA, June 20. Nearly 40 eighth grade students received their diplomas during the ceremony attended by Hanscom AFB leadership, family, and friends. U.S. Air Force photo by Mark Wyatt

By Mark Wyatt, 66th Air Base Group Public Affairs 

The Hanscom Middle School staff recognized nearly 40 graduating eighth grade students during a ceremony in the school’s multipurpose space on June 20.

The in-person ceremony was the first held indoors since the Covid pandemic began in 2020.

“I feel really fortunate that we’re able to come together [inside] and celebrate this graduating class’s accomplishments,” said HMS Principal Erich Ledebuhr.

Get The Bedford Citizen in your inbox!

Prior to the presentation of diplomas, four students received awards for academic achievement.

Lincoln Educator’s Association: Randy Smith and Ayla Meiling Gonzalez
Lincoln Historical Society Award: Mckensi Galarza
Heddie Kent Literature Award: Elora Fennell

Col. Taona Enriquez, installation commander, provided remarks to the graduates.

“I would also like to express my deep appreciation to the teachers, staff, and parents who have guided and supported you throughout your middle school years,” she said. “They have equipped you with knowledge, inspired you to dream big, and instilled in you the values that will carry you through life.”

Enriquez encouraged the graduates to think differently.

“As you transition to high school, remember that the path ahead may be challenging at times, but do not be deterred,” she said. “Take risks, be courageous, and embrace failure as a stepping stone toward success.”

While many will attend high school locally, others will attend high school elsewhere.

“Throughout your time here, you have built long lasting friendships, participated in unique hands-on projects, expressed your creativity,” she said. “Remember all of the great times you have created while at Hanscom Air Force Base.”

Samantha Boglarski has her photo taken with Lincoln Superintendent of Schools Dr. Rebecca McFall by her father, Col. Stephen Boglarski, 66th Medical Squadron commander, during the Hanscom Middle School graduation ceremony at Hanscom Air Force Base on Tuesday. Nearly 40 eighth grade students received their diplomas during the ceremony, attended by base leadership, family, and friends. (U.S. Air Force photo by Mark Wyatt)

Changing schools several times is not uncommon for military-connected students. 

“We know that our [military] students face a lot of challenges and a lot of transition,” said Ledebuhr. “Every now and then we give a longevity award to students who might have been here a little longer than others.” 

Ledebuhr presented Elora Fennell, Michael McDaniel, and Kyra Omar longevity awards. Each student has been at Hanscom AFB since preschool.

Lincoln Superintendent of Schools Dr. Rebecca McFall and Lincoln School Committee chair John MacLachlan presented the graduates with their diplomas.

Congratulations to the following HMS graduates, listed by name and school they will attend:

  • Valerie Agurcia, Bedford High School
  • Sophia Babington, Bedford High School
  • Samantha Boglarski, permanently changing station
  • Daniel Burger, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School
  • Dean Concepcion, Bedford High School
  • Scout Correu, permanently changing station
  • Samantha Dandridge, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School
  • Ariana DeJesus, Bedford High School
  • Tara Fait, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School
  • Elora Fennell, permanently changing station
  • Mckensi Galarza, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School
  • Isabella Goeke, Bedford High School
  • Ayla Gonzalez, Bedford High School
  • Avery Gregory, Bedford High School
  • Avery Howard, Arlington Catholic High School
  • Connor Howell, Bedford High School
  • Parker Jones, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School
  • Blake Lewis, Bedford High School
  • Tyler Lewis II, Bedford High School
  • Michael McDaniel, Bedford High School
  • Taj Moore, Bedford High School
  • Elizabeth Muller, Bedford High School
  • Nathan Munoz, Bedford High School
  • Emilie Noble, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School
  • Kirin Noland, Bedford High School
  • Jameson O’Hearn, permanently changing station
  • Kyra Omar, Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School
  • Brendan Orr, Bedford High School
  • Loreli Perez, Bedford High School
  • Norman Sanderson, Shawsheen Technical High School
  • Emily Smith, permanently changing station
  • Randi Smith, Bedford High School
  • Alexus Stahly, Bedford High School
  • Christopher Tesch, Bedford High School
  • William Watson, Bedford High School
  • Savannah Weible, Bedford High School
  • Brayden Winston, Shawsheen Technical High School
  • Caspian Zumwalt, permanently changing station   
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

All Stories

Do you have a garden where you take care of either flowers or vegetables?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
  • Junior Landscaping
Go toTop