Annual Town Meeting 2016: Memorial Resolutions

As read by Michael Rosenberg, Chair of the Selectman

Town of Bedford New SealWhereas, since the Annual Town Meeting of 2015, employees, officers and committee members of the Town have passed away, having performed their duties faithfully, dedicating their time and skills to benefit the residents of Bedford, and whereas we gratefully recognize their public service to Bedford’s citizens, now therefore be it resolved that we, the people of Bedford, assembled here in Annual Town Meeting on March 28, 2016, mourn their passing and extend sincere sympathy to the families of:

Emily King
Library Trustee 1981-1999; Planning Board 1971-1973

Richard Brown
Town Administrator   1974-1980;  Selectmen 1984-1985

John Gerdes
Council on Aging 2002-2014

John Raffa
School Custodian 1996-2000

Nancy E. Lehan
Registrar at Bedford High School 1982-2005

Catherine Barbieri
School Employee 1971-1981; Senior Employment Worker 2012-2015

William P. Ambrose
Bedford Teacher, Assistant Principal and Coach 1962-1994

Daniel Francis Xavier O’Reilly
School Committee 1990-1999, Youth & Family Services Committee 1998-2000, Capital Expenditures Committee 1992-2000, School & Municipal Needs III 1998-2001, Ad Hoc Teen Center Committee 1989-1990, Alcohol & Drug Abuse Committee 1997-1998, Fiscal Planning & Coordinating Committee 1998-2000

Patricia Ardito
Affordable Housing Committee 1987-1992, Center School Study Committee 1980, Central Artery Landfill Test Force 1991, Charter Revision Committee 1989-1991,  Committee on Sign Bylaw 1990-1996, Registrar of Voters 1973-1990, 2002-2007, Wood, Bark & Manure 1990, Electric Utility Restructuring 1997-1998, 2006 Bicentennial Commission 1975, Planning Board 1980-1997

Willis Lee Davis
Fire Protection Committee 1968-1969

James P. Harrington
Conservation Commission 2006-2/2010, Land Acquisition Committee 2008-2011, Outdoor Recreation Committee 2012-2013

Kathryn al-Kaleem
METCO program JGMS 2003-2013

Ruth Ann Valentine
Conservation Commission 1997-2000, Wild and Scenic River Study Committee 1995-1999

Helen A. Gellatly
Election Officer 1982-1987

Robert W. Willis
Personnel Board – 1986-1992, Fence Viewer 1986-1988, Town Meeting Quorum Committee. 1982, MBTA District Rep. 1992-1998; Fire Protection Committee. 1967-1968

Esther L. Genetti
Cafeteria Worker

John K. Litchfield Sr.
Refuse Disposal Study Committee 1965-1971, Waltham Refuse Study Committee 1967

Val Asbedian
Selectmen 1995-2001, Capital Expenditure Committee 1992-1999, Finance Committee 1979-1982, Cable Television 1991-1992, Zoning Board of Appeals 1991-1992, Adhoc Information Systems Advisory Committee 1995-1998, Petitioners Advisory Committee 2011-2014

Mary Foti
Kids’ Club Staff 2002-2009

Beverly Nelson

Evelyn Stickney
Administrative Assistant Bedford Free Public Library 1967-2004

Christopher Draskovich
Firefighter 1968-2000

Richard Stephenson
Math Teacher 1987-2009

Bernard Gollis
Science Teacher, Assistant Principal, Principal and Guidance Counselor 1957-1993

And be it further resolved that this Resolution be inscribed in the permanent record of this meeting, and notification thereof sent to members of their families.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

All Stories

What's Bedford Thinking about electric vehicles? Which of the following applies to you?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
  • Junior Landscaping
Go toTop